Wednesday Wonderings For 5/3/2017

May 3, 2017

He who hesitates is lost…

  • I was working on some drawings and stuff and realized something.  I often told myself I would do a table if I had this different many prints, this many sketch cards and copies of an actual comic to sell.  I just realized I have the prints and sketch cards I would prefer to have.  All I really have to do is actually get some actual comic stuff ready to go.  Which is doable since VTCC isn’t until the end of August.  Problem is that I’m pretty sure the deadline to get a table set up has come and gone.  Oh well, I’m cool with volunteering again.
  • Redrawing the first issue of Order of the Dragon in pencil rather than digitally.  Wasn’t entirely thrilled with a how a few of the pages came out, plus I do like the feel I have drawing better when I’m using pencil and paper.  Plan is to basically do a page a day in pencil, then ink it in photoshop whenever I can.  Hopefully I’ll be at a point where I can seriously entertain doing some kind of printed single issue by then.
  • Saw NYCC has done away with the three and four day passes.  I liked those for the convenience personally.  Might cut me down to two days this year.  I’ll be annoyed if there’s something on the days I don’t go that I miss as a result.
  • I saw this meme this other day about how people who don’t work on their personal  goals after work aren’t tired, they’re uninspired.  No, sometimes I’m too tired.
  • Officially paid off one of my school loans.  That really only leaves the Navient stuff as far as school loans are concerned.  With a bit of luck, those should be knocked down in no time.  I feel I’m getting into a better place debtwise.  Debating the possibility of selling a few comics to accelerate that process.  I’m overdue to get the ball rolling on the comics anyway.
  • I’ve talked about how I feel the key to a proper diet is balance.  This is part of the reason I find myself skeptical of the benefits of a vegetarian diet.  I have a coworker who recently became a vegetarian and he has become a bit of a stereotype.  His choice, but I have some fundamental disagreements.  I believe humans evolved to eat meat for a reason and that has been a crucial element of our progression.  While one argument I’ve heard is that meat is full of hormones, what if we need those?  I have become more selective with my meats–partly a result of some bad experiences with the local Shaw’s–and tend to prefer local stuff I know where it came from.  There is no such thing as a uniform approach to diet and the human body will have different needs at different times.  Fulfilling those needs is up to everyone to figure out how best to do so.
Leave a Reply

