Wednesday Wonderings For 4/26/2017

April 26, 2017

Listen. Question. Why do we talk out loud when we know we’re alone?  Conjecture. Because we know we’re not.  Evolution perfects survival skills. There are perfect hunters. There is perfect defence. Question. Why is there no such thing as perfect hiding? Answer. How would you know? Logically, if evolution were to perfect a creature whose primary skill were to hide from view, how could you know it existed?  It could be with us every second and we would never know. How would you detect it, even sense it, except in those moments when, for no clear reason you choose to speak aloud? What would such a creature want? What would it do? Well? What would you do?

-The Doctor from the Doctor Who Episode “Listen”

  • This opening monologue from the fourth episode of Peter Capaldi’s first season always gripped me.  Easily my favorite episode for a number of reasons–beyond the glorious idea of Jenna Coleman lurking beneath my bed–it had a lot of brilliant concepts.  I think people want to be perfect at hiding.  To go unnoticed.  Be it a lot of people at work, ex-girlfriends, etc… I do think there are plenty of people who just want to remain unnoticed.  I think about it and I just want to say to some people:  “You try so hard to hide.  So hard you miss so many things right in front of you.  You’re not perfect.  You had your moments, but you’re not.  You missed a lot of things in your desperation to disappear.  But sooner or later you will have to stop hiding.  And all those things you missed or didn’t want to admit to will catch up to you.  What will you do then?”
  • Did a couple of really nice cleaned up versions of Green Lanterns from the comics.  Hal Jordan and Arisia with Mogo in the background.  Using the Hal Jordan one I inked in Photoshop for my profile picture on Facebook.  Working on a Mera from Aquaman drawing now.  If the DC movies have gotten one thing right so far, it’s her–at least looks wise.  Also thinking about drawings of Batgirl, Batwoman, Red Sonja, Phoenix… Starting to wonder if I’ve got a thing for red-heads…
  • The big Science March was on Saturday.  Science goes unappreciated.  I’m pretty sure we have science to explain Donald Trump’s hair.  Haha, bad joke.  Science covers a lot more than we think.  I like to think I exercise some kind of scientific problem solving in a myriad of ways.  Life is really science when we get down to it.
  • I realized I have enough Flex Comics shirts and tanktops where I can go almost a month without wearing the same shirt twice.  Not sure how to feel about that.
Leave a Reply

