Appreciation For the Day and Other Thoughts

January 15, 2017

An odd thought has occurred to me the other day.  I’ve spent most of the last seven years working in concrete box, the last two working nights.  In that time, I’ve gotten numerous chances to watch the sun rise and set.  To watch the changing of the guard from day to night and back again.  Celestia and Luna at work, for the MLP fans out there.

I realize, as I lounge in bed with a bit of a stomach ache trying to sleep, I miss being a creature of the day.  If there is daylight, I want to be a part of it.  That has been arguably the biggest challenge I’ve faced working nights.  Letting go of the daylight.  Everyday I step outside of work and the sun is up, I wake.  And as long as the sun is up, I remain so.

Kind of the curse of working nights.  I accepted a long time ago I’m a creature of the day.  When I was haphazardly planning to build a house, I had two design elements that stick out.  One was an art studio that would have been intended to get as much light as possible for the bulk of the day–an aspect I’ve struggled with in my art is setting up and maintaining a good environment for drawing and/or writing.  More important than you would think.  The other was a lounging bench in a window as part of the library room–I recently posted a sketch of what I had roughly thought this could look like on Instagram.  Kind of cleaning up some of the sketches and notes I had made years ago to practice doing some interior settings.

Point is, I’ve come to realize an appreciation for the day.  For the sun and all the potential it brings.  I’m not a vampire, although I’ve written about them.  I really have developed a deeper appreciation for daylight and would love nothing more than fully embrace it once again.

Some other thoughts:

  • Did a job interview last week, I think it went fairly well.  Part of me is a little concerned about pursuing this right now with Obamacare under fire.  I would prefer a bit more stability on that front.  I think repealing Obamacare is going to do more harm than good.  I really viewed it as more of a first step than the full answer.  Personally, I think the better approach would be to build off of it as it is–especially since there’s a lot of things people like about it.
  • I’m thinking about a lot of ideas.  Meant to geared up to mess around with some archery stuff, never really got around to it.  Might try to do that when Spring rolls around.  Also might look into raising goats again.  I just think that would be fun.
  • Thinking about past mistakes.  Situations mishandled.  I’ve considered offering a number of apologies–to coworkers, my ex, odd family members, etc.–but wonder does it really have meaning?  Are people too complex to accept simple apologies?  And would my apologies prevent others from seeing the things they could have done better?
Leave a Reply

