2016 Review Part Deux

December 26, 2016

Don’t talk to me if you ain’t got the answers I need,

Yeah I’ve got problems

Can’t you see I’m trying to solve them?

Dropkick Murphys “Take It and Run”

 

2016 was pretty fucked up.  Still a week left, but I’m going to reflect on it regardless.  Already did one of these at the end of November, but I want to expand on a few thoughts.

A lot of the corner stones to our culture passed away.  Not even going to try to list all the icons who died this year, I’ll probably miss a few and keep updating the list to make sure they all are on it.  As I’ve said before, some people take issue with the idea that some get worked up over celebrities passing away, but a lot of these people have had a fundamental impact on our definitions of who we are or what we strive to become.  Especially with some of the people who passed away this year.  So I don’t have a problem mourning for David Bowie, Muhammed Ali, etc.

Humanity really embraced its self-destructive tendency.  One of the things I’ve tried to get a better understanding of is the human mind and how it works.  This both intentionally and unintentionally led to a lot of consideration about mental health.  In particular anxiety issues.  As a culture we’ve proven we’ve got some pretty big ones.  A few days ago I came across an article about why we “Self-sabotage” and it does raise some valid points.  The big conclusions I’ve reached is that even if we don’t want to admit it, people don’t believe they have a right to be happy and won’t believe in things that will do that.  Even if it is the simplest, most obvious thing in the world, people won’t do it just because they don’t trust good things.  I don’t know, thinking about this got me brought to mind the quote I opened this post with.  I guess the goal for the new year will be to live by the words from Rogue One: “I am one with the Force and the Force is with me.”

I spent a lot of time reflecting on life and the world around me.  Trying to better grok the idea of ideas.  In some areas I succeeded, some I didn’t.  I never tried to be right about everything, but I did try to avoid an excess of wrongness.  I’m okay with not being right about everything if it leads to a better understanding of the world.  As much as I may have ruffled some feathers with my overall discussions of past relationships, I believe that discussing a lot of the observations I made established a much deeper understanding of what transpired.  At least for me anyway.  Most people were probably just as annoyed by it as my ex was.

Leave a Reply

