Wednesday Wonderings For 11/16/16

November 16, 2016

Reflecting on what we’ve learned…

  • Working on some short comics.  Think I’ll get rolling on those in the coming days, probably after I finish a few smaller projects.  Continuing to work on some sketch cards and more sellable stuff for the potential table at VTCC.  Skewing towards more Skyrim art right now.  Got some coloring work to finish up on a couple of things that might happen on my days off.
  • Been playing a lot of Skyrim.  Derailed my NaNoWriMo stuff.  Had a good concept worked out for it too.  Hazard of buying a Playstation 4 just at the end of October, I guess.
  • I’ve been thinking about the Election as more Hillary Clinton’s loss, than Donald Trump’s win.  I believe the Clinton campaign has pointed blame at a variety of things–FBI, Media, Bernie, etc.–but those weren’t the deciding factors.  Well, various members of the media have owned up to being less than their best, but that was not the whole problem.  I think Clinton took too much for granted and expected things to be handed to her.  She didn’t earn support like Trump or Sanders did.  True she actually did win the popular vote and lost some key electoral college votes by less than one percent, but it was the failure to truly earn those votes that hurt her.  I mean, the difference really was Gary Johnson and Jill Stein, who I’m not convinced made a public appearance without some level of marijuana in their systems.
  • Speaking of third parties, I’m fairly impressed with them right now.  The easy copout would be to blame them for Trump being elected, but as I said, it was really more Clinton’s failure than anything.  But regardless, I’m glad they had a strong showing even if it did skew the results.  I was a bit dismayed to see them nominate the people they did though.  I had an open mind about Johnson and Stein, but they kind of let me down.  I think the Green Party and the Libertarians can get stronger candidates on the ballot next time around and Make a much more serious impact.
Leave a Reply

