NYCC Friday

October 7, 2016

So today was the day I was going to dress up as the Tenth Doctor.  I made until about 3PM until wearing the suit became too much.  Felt like I was about to pass out, so I bought a t-shirt and wore that the rest of the day.

The big highlight of the day was the BBC America takeover.  It was scheduled for the same time as a couple of other things I wanted to do, but I prioritized.

Started off with a screening of the first episode of Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency.  Looked pretty good, I’m interested in that.  Then the writer, producer and most of the cast came on stage leading corgis.  There’s a corgi in the story.  As I left, the corgi were outside and they were wearing these “I ❤ Corgis Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency” and I got a picture or two of them.  Wanted to get more pictures inside, but I kept distracted by… everything.

Then came Class, the Doctor Who spinoff set at Coal Hill Academy.  Looked good, they had the cast and various creative team members there.  <spoiler>Somebody asked a question about Barbara and Ian, the original companions, and if they would be making an appearance.  They have been referenced in the Sarah Jane Adventures as having been… affected by their adventures.  The showrunner had a great line about that: “Cameos are like Penises.  If you going to put one in there, better make sure it is a good one.”

So I am looking forward to that.  The trailer for it looked damn good.

Then came the actual Doctor Who stuff.  Peter Capaldi on stage with Pearl Mackie and Steven Moffat.  Some preview stuff of the upcoming Christmas special.  I just like listening to Capaldi and Moffat talk.  Even if you don’t particularly like where Moffat goes with his stories, it is clear how much love he has for these characters.  It is just awesome listening to Capaldi talk.  He’s clearly doing what he’s always wanted.

Leave a Reply

