Comics Update

July 22, 2016

After several months of just being stalled for a variety of reasons, I feel it is about time to post some comic book pages again.  I’m going to finish uploading the pages I’ve already completed in Order of the Dragon over the weekend.  Monday’s page is done, the next two are eighty to ninety percent there–Wednesday just needs some minor tweaks and Friday is mostly colored.

I think I’m going to leave out the Issue Zero story.  That was really more of a… therapeutic exercise than anything, with no real connection to the rest of the story.  I liked it well enough, but I think it has served its purpose.  It was a effective tool for the job I needed it for–plus I still cringe every time I think of that drawing I did of the cat with its face falling off.  Its still up on the Duck if anybody wants to check it out.

So I’m getting that going again.  Issue #1 of Order of the Dragon should be smooth sailing.

Also thinking about Chlorine and Acid again.  I stopped doing it for a number of reasons.  One, I was in the middle of a story about a plant manager getting fired and they fired the current one at the time.  Needless to say, that was a wee bit too… topical.  I decided to take a little break before I continued.  So a month goes by there’s a “terrorist threat” made against the company.  We have a couple of former employees that post these stupid little photoshop things making fun of current and former management.  They weren’t necessarily known for their good judgement.  One of them posted this thing about ISIS and our Holiday party.  Canceled the party, had a cop watching the plant 24/7 for a few weeks… it was quite the spectacle.  I started it with the idea that I would offer some mockery and insight into what goes on at the plant, but it was intended to stay in the range of good fun and for the most part did–I will admit I toed a couple of lines.  After that fiasco, I voluntarily ended the comic to avoid the appearance of encouraging or approving that type of thing.

I might try to do some new outlines and start over fresh with it, but I’m not too committed to the idea.  It was intended to be a collaborative project, but my collaborator didn’t work out.  I tried doing it alone, but it felt weird doing it without the inspiration for one of the characters.

Still would like to do something collaborative.  The idea of being able to focus on just drawing or writing a comic actually does intrigue me quite a bit.  If all goes well getting Order of the Dragon going, I’ll be giving that more serious thought.

Leave a Reply

