Idea of Ideas

July 8, 2016

I basically restarted this blog last year with a handful of goals in mind.  One, was basically to force myself to write on a regular basis.  That has more or less been accomplished, as I usually write two posts a week–likely to some people’s annoyance.  Two, to formulate new ideas.  I wrote a post awhile back about Ideas and how important it is to have them and form new ones, but amazed me is how sometimes each point I tried to make would spawn another point or two that expanded a whole new range of concepts.  And the third was to process a lot of what was going on in my life.  I was dealing with a break-up I did not agree with and there were any number of things I wanted to say that the other party involved just would not give me opportunity to say–she might disagree with that and have her thoughts about what I’ve written, but as Obi-Wan Kenobi once said, “Many of the truths that we cling to depend greatly on our own point of view.”  My main goal in discussing her and a lot of what unfolded was to simply process a lot of the intricacies of the decision making and a lot of the factors that impacted those decisions as well as explore how I’m bettering myself as a result–I wrote a lot more about her than I intended, I will admit.  Point is, I wrote a lot of stuff and I intend to keep writing.  Mostly it was ideas and the idea of having ideas.

Anyway, I’m thinking more about the “Idea of Ideas” and how important it is that we have them.  How important it is to come up with new ones.  About the difference between a “belief” and an “idea.”  I look at a lot of what is unfolding in the news these days and I wonder how much we’re seeing that blurring of the lines between beliefs and ideas.  Gun control, ISIS, Clinton, Trump… we’ve got a lot going on where people are getting losing track of that line.  Does the belief of what the Second Amendment implies negate alternative ideas that make us safer?  Does the belief of what is the appropriate way to deal with ISIS prevent us from forming the ideas that might render them irrelevant?  Does the belief of our two party system’s superiority become a help or a hindrance in implementing new ideas and reforms that might make our lives better?  Does the belief in stereotypes prevent us from acknowledging that religion and skin color have little to do with being a criminal or a terrorist?

My point is, I look around at the world I see people trying trying to fit neatly into a belief system.  People believe in a way the world should be.  Politicians try to sell people on that belief system.  I think that was the heart of the matter when it came to Bernie Sanders running for President.  He was rocking the belief system to its core.  Clinton and Trump both represent old beliefs.  They’re the old ideas to restore stability to the belief structure.  But the cracks are already there.  I don’t pretend to have much in the way of answers.  I just think we need to start coming up with some new ideas before its too late.

So yeah, ask questions now.  What do you believe?  What do you know?  Do your beliefs mean what you think they means?  Do our beliefs empower or limit us?  Who should we believe in now?

Maybe we’ll figure that out sometime.  Or maybe we’ll blow ourselves up.  Not sure which option would be the optimistic one.

Leave a Reply

