Wednesday Wonderings For 7/6/2016

July 6, 2016

So many things I wonder about, so little time…

  • Got my first Bro Tank Club order yesterday.  This one is Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles themed, with a tagline on the back reading “Will Lift for Pizza.”  I’m really glad I’ve ordered some of these shirts and got that “Mystery Bag”.  Feels like more fun to be working out while wearing the “Maximum Effort” tank top or the “Alpha” unicorn t-shirt.  The down-side to finding out about Flex Comics is that it kinda puts a damper on my plan to do a comic about working out/bodybuilding.  It seems to be a bit pointless when somebody else is already nailing it.  Planning on getting a pic of the new tank and the “Droid Rage” shirt in the coming days.  I do have the Arnold “Come With Me If You Want To Lift” tank top as well, but I’m thinking I’ll save that for a special occasion–not really a huge fan of the Terminator, but two out of three in the Mystery Bag wasn’t bad.
  • Chugging along with a few Order of the Dragon pages.  I’m getting way to easily distracted, but I’m still hopeful.  Giving some thought to revisiting Chlorine and Acid in the near future, maybe restarting with less of defined story to start.  There’s always going to be a story to it, but I would like to get to the point where I’m just having fun with it.  That was a big part of why I lost interest, just not having fun.
  • Getting away from my usual breakfast for a bit, going from a single servings of Greek yogurt and oatmeal to a measured out mix of greek yogurt and granola.  Did the math and I think it is higher on calories, carbs and protein to do it this way.  I was doing a cup of each with a teaspoon of cacao nibs mixed in, but I might drop it down to a half cup of yogurt to make feel like a bit more solid of a meal.
  • Saw something recently about how the triceps make up the majority of your upper arms–never really thought about it, but I guess it is true–so I’ve been focusing on them a bit more.  Liking the progress so far.
  • Thinking a bit about what I said about Independence Day.  I think this country does need a lot of work.  I wonder if we’re making the American Dream come true or just corrupting it and ourselves.  There so many ways we can make this country and the world a better place, but we keep missing those opportunities.  I wonder how many more we can afford to miss?
  • I had included this in my Independence Day post, but later cut it, but I got a bit of an interesting story.  Last week I went shopping for shorts, since all my non-gym pairs are developing holes.  In retrospect, Lenny’s Shoe and Apparel was probably a poor choice, given that they specialize in work/Carhartt clothing.  Anyway, I picked up a couple of shirts and a fleece jacket instead.  On the way home, I realized the fleece jacket was the same type that my ex’s parents got me for Christmas.  During the “Great Passive Aggressive Christmas of 2014”, they had given me a fleece jacket and vest with the name of the farm sewn into the chest.  I remember being pretty overwhelmed by that–a better kind of overwhelmed than what going through at the time.  I remember that just made me feel a lot better about a lot of the shit going on then.  I left those with my ex because it just felt weird keeping something like that.  Looking at the new jacket, I just remembered how much I appreciated and respected her parents.  To be honest, I actually felt worse for the parents than myself when she broke up with me–more because it had already been a rough time with the sister going to Nevada than anything.  It was a good reminder that I actually really did have a lot of admiration and respect for her parents–even if things did bottom out with their daughter.  Just funny what gets the memories going sometimes.
Leave a Reply

