Independence Day and Odd Notes

July 3, 2016

Mostly odd thoughts…

Tomorrow’s Independence Day for the United States.  I’ve toying with some thoughts on another “Holidays are bullshit” piece, but my main hesitation is that I don’t really want to get political about it.  Which is funny because it is a holiday based in politics.  Given a lot of what has happened in this country and in the world–the Brexit seems like such a fundamentally American idea when you think about it–I have to wonder how much progress we’ve made in the last two hundred and forty years.

All these rights and freedoms and self-evident truths… I think sometimes we miss the point.  They’re undeniable and obvious because they should apply to everyone.  Not just Americans.  And there is no superiority that allows us to deny those rights to others.

And one of the goals of our society should be to create a world where we are secure and don’t feel such a need for arms to defend ourselves.  We’ve gotten pretty well side-tracked on that too.  Mostly I just think we should be a lot closer to making the gun control debate moot than we are.  The idealist in me.

I might be a bit of an idealist at times.  We’ve had some good ideas and some bad ideas.  It can be hard to tell which is which.  I hope we’re getting better, but I can be an idealist sometimes.  Mostly I’m a cynical bastard.  I’m trying to be the idealist a bit more.  Just trying to remember the infinite possibilities we all have if we give ourselves a chance to embrace them.

In other news…

I got ticket and hotel all bought and reserved for NYCC.  Looking forward to it this year.  Different hotel, this one looks like it has a bit more of a gym set up.  That tiny little room in the basement last year was a bit depressing.  I also am missing NYC.  Living there is out of the question, but I love visiting.

Hoping to be posting pages in the next week or two.  I’ve said that before, but I’m a bit more serious this time.

I look at the stats for the blog and I see I occasionally get these four or five views from Facebook.  Like somebody just randomly reading four or five of the recent posts to get caught up.  Happens every couple of weeks.  Not that it matters in the slightest, I just notice a pattern and it gave me a moment of intrigue.

Leave a Reply

