Wednesday Wonderings For 6/22/2016

June 22, 2016

Mostly just idle speculations this week.  Bit on aging and death, a bit on art, a few other oddities.  Might ramble on about a couple of things, but I think I make my points.

  • Anton Yelchin died in a car accident.  He’s an actor, was Chekov in the new Star Trek movies.  He was two years younger than I am.  I found that makes his death somewhat more depressing than it already was.  I guess there was actually a recall on the Jeep he had for that type of thing happening–or they were about to issue one, saw some conflicting reports.
  • Gave a bit of a rant about this the other day, but I got this “you’re halfway to sixty” speech the other day.  An interesting way to put it, if a bit annoying–I am in fact 29 at the moment, so I’m really halfway to 58 or 59 depending if you want to be precise.  It’s just amusing.  Nothing really new there, just finding this amusing.
  • Looks like I’m not getting my review done this week.  The necessary people are on vacation.  Funny, given how these were supposed to be done last Friday.  I already know how mine’s going to go anyway.  It’s a thin job market out there, but I’m always keeping an eye out for something good.
  • Gun Control is a popular topic lately.  In full disclosure, I have actually been entertaining the idea of acquiring a gun.  I spend a lot of time outside–kayaking, hiking, general outdoor work–in rural, wooded areas known to have sightings of bears, lynx and various other wildlife.  Not much beyond a Sig or a Glock, just a pretty basic handgun.  Admittedly that wouldn’t necessarily do much against a bear, but I wouldn’t necessarily have the goal of killing it outright.  But I might not get that done.  As a society, if the necessity is there for the number of guns we supply ourselves with, I have to wonder if we’re really making progress as a country.  Are we defending ourselves or supplying the criminals they’re needed to defend against?   Just a thought.
  • Got a fairly nice take on that Spider-Gwen drawing done.  Might do a few more touch-ups, but I’m liking it.  Now to get back to the comics.  Uploaded it here a few days ago when I was speculating on the idea of setting up a Patreon account.  I did that, although it appears that will be a bit of a long term project, which is okay.  Here is a link to that page.
  • When it comes to working out, something I’ve been hesitating to do is start taking a true “Weight Gainer”.  Basically a Weight Gainer is a protein blend that is usually high protein, high carbs and high calories–considerably higher than the stuff I’ve taken.  Like 1,250 calories, 50 grams protein and 250 grams carbs per serving.  My main qualm with this type of thing is that I’m attempting to maintain a balance of actual food and supplements, which I am wondering if this would disrupt.  I think I will try this in addition to what I’ve got going on already.  My diet is getting progressively more diverse as I go, and I like where its going. Might work better with my metabolism.
Leave a Reply

