Pick A Title

June 16, 2016

(Another insomnia post, related a bit to what I’m talking about.)

There was a Mel Brooks movie in the late seventies called High Anxiety.  It was based a send-up on Alfred Hitchcock movies, primarily mimicking the plot of Vertigo–if I’m not mistaken, it has been a few years since I saw either.  Not really the highlight of the Mel Brooks catalog, it was after the Blazing Saddles/Young Frankenstein phase and before Spaceballs/Robin Hood: Men In Tights wrapped up his directorial career.

It springs to mind because the main character is diagnosed with “High Anxiety” which they state impacts a surprising percentage of people.  Can’t remember exactly what the old doctor says.  Lately I’ve been reading up about Anxiety Disorders.  Mostly to educate myself.  There are two or three areas in  particular where I’m trying to learn more.

The first is professional.  Working nights in the situations we’ve had going on at work, I’ve on a couple of occasions wondered if certain aspects of that could lead to an anxiety disorder of some kind.  I’m an introvert to begin with, which is not necessarily a disorder, but it is something to be aware of.  I know at least one coworker that has admitted to me that he has anxiety issues, and it would not surprise me to find out there are a few more with some anxiety problems.  So, given that there is a some history of it occurring and knowing that I’m subjected to a lot of those same stresses and few new ones, I figured I would at least become more aware of what makes up anxiety disorders with the idea of catching a problem early.

The second is that my grandparents are in a somewhat fluid state of dementia and part of that can have the byproduct of creating a more paranoid or anxious state.  So that aspect is something I wanted to look into, if only to figure out if there was a way to improve interactions with them.  Given their age and state, it is likely a lost cause.

The third would be that I know or believe I know/knew a fair number of people have or could have some form of anxiety disorder–not diagnosing, but I am cognizant that 18% of the population has some level of anxiety disorder and the age group I spend the most time with is more likely to have such issues.  And there were one or two people I think could have some level of anxiety issues–again not diagnosing, just observing a medical and behavioral history–and there were times I did not really handle myself well in dealing with those people.

Now I’m trying to learn more about anxiety disorders.  Like I said, I have some concerns about my own health, although nothing too serious.  Writing, drawing, eating well, working out, and outdoor stuff; all those have emerged as outlets to counter some anxieties.  The only things I feel I’m lacking are sleep and social interaction.  I’m working on those two, but it is… a challenge that I’m struggling to meet.  That’s kind of the whole point behind what I’m calling the Soul Wars.  But hey, my review should be happening tomorrow, so we will see how that goes.

As for dealing with other people, some of those people I didn’t handle things very well with were people I was fairly close with.  I was very dismissive of people’s worrying and that might have cost me.  There was a lot of stuff I should have been more aware of and more understanding about.  And I can see myself in such situations again.  I mean, I am part of that demographic that is more likely to have anxiety issues.  I could be friends or something more with people that experience any manner of anxiety issues.  Being able to understand and accept those were a bit of an issue.  Just one more way I’m trying to do better.

Leave a Reply

