Wednesday Wonderings for 5/25/2016

May 25, 2016

Discuss vacation plans, long term goals, etc…  Odd bit of reflection…

  • Got a few things planned for my vacation.  Going to check out this Sled Dog Rescue and Education Center I found out about online.  I’m thinking of going another route anyway, but I’ve always had a soft spot for Huskies and Malamutes…  Going to try to get some serious writing and drawing done…  Also planning to do a lot of kayaking and hiking…  See X-Men: Apocalypse…  Memorial Day is during the week as well, so I will do something with that as well… Probably grilling…  Going to see about getting my push mower fixed up…  Might even get rolling on one of the dozen of projects I keep putting off in that area.
  • Got a kayak.  A 9.5 foot Perception Swifty DLX.  I’m sure that means nothing to 90% of the population, but it’s decent kayak.  Didn’t go too cheap or way over budget, just got what looked like it would work best.  Was planning to go to one of the lakes and paddle around for a few hours, but it started raining just as I was going to load it back onto the Jeep.  Probably jinxed it by saying it had better not be raining.  Looks it will be next week before I can take it out.
  • Still looking at dogs, just focusing in on what I think would be the right fit for me.  I think I’m zeroing in on an Australian Shepherd.  Seems like the right combination of look, energy and practicality.  Been looking at a few breeders in the state and I’m thinking that’s a route I’d like to go.  Going to start getting more serious about that in the near future, mostly just trying to get the money and housing situations where they should be.  The idea of building a house remains the ideal scenario in my mind.  Still learning about training right now, more of long-term plan for once I’m back on my own again.
  • Thinking I’m going to start liquidating my comics collection soon.  Or at least a majority of it.  I have the entire run of the Scott Snyder and Greg Capullo Batman series, so I’m going to be getting a bit more heavy into getting all that signed and graded.  I got some of the key early issues signed, looking to get a few more signed over the summer and fall.  Also keeping a close eye on upcoming Marvel movies to see if a couple of key characters are going to show up.  I’m planning on doing this in the next six months or so.  Might get my Civil War and Winter Soldier copies graded… It is past due that I start making money off them.
  • So, I got a bit of a story here.  My parents got a wedding invitation in the mail the other day.  It was for the nuptials of my ex’s cousin and one of my sister’s best friends growing up.  One of those “it’s a small world” type of moments.  I had a small role in getting them together, as he was asking about her at a gathering before they met.  My ex and I knew her a bit, but most of our info was out of date–then it occurred to me that my mother probably was still in touch with her mother.  She was at this gathering–a going away party for the sister and brother-in-law going to Nevada, who had worked with my dad and I–so I called her over and she had plenty of details.  It was a bit of welcome distraction from all the heavy stuff going on at the time.  It was nice not to be agonizing about whether or not I bring up all the stuff I had been reading about that area of Nevada or about Lyme Disease.*  Anyway, they’re engaged and my parents were invited to the wedding.  Mom has said she has little interest in going, I think in part because of the way things ended with me and my ex.  I would hope not, but that’s the way of things if it is.  Although she did suggest I use the invitation instead–as a joke, I assume.  I mean, these are friends she’s known for years.  There is my ex’s family…  One would hope it wouldn’t be a distraction.  Mom did have a role in getting the bride and groom together, so I’d like to see her go.

 

 

*At the time I had read up on Nevada and learned a few things, some of them not so pleasant.  Never really shared that until now.  Debated whether or not to put this into writing, most of it doesn’t really matter I suppose.

First was the kids that came down with leukemia back in the early 2000s.  Over a six month stretch there were a dozen or so cases of kids developing leukemia.  My numbers might be a bit off in memory.  They thought it might be a bit of an Erin Brockovich type of situation with an environmental factor of some kind–something to do with the Navy base–but investigation ceased when new cases stopped emerging.  It was something like fifteen years ago, so I questioned whether or not this was ancient history and therefore relevant.

The second was the plant that the brother-in law was to go work at.  I read a handful of articles about it, primarily learning that the place was intended to give the local farms and ranches a chance to expand if they didn’t have to ship the milk to California.  Problem, the Southwest is always in a drought.  They do not have the water available to expand as planned–or at least that’s what the article at the time indicated.  Basically the situation might not be as stable as advertised.  Again, I didn’t say anything because I wasn’t sure of too much and they had already put so much on this.

As far as Lyme Disease is concerned… My mother and grandfather both had Lyme Disease to some extent, my grandfather having a case that was more severe and caught later after infection.  In his case, it accelerated the onset of dementia.  He is 94, but still.  Point is, Lyme Disease is a nasty motherfucker that is difficult to diagnose and does a ton of damage.  I don’t know what else to say, all you can really do is hope for the best.
Was keeping that stuff to myself the right decision? Would it have changed anything? Who knows? Such speculation is pointless.

Leave a Reply

