Castle

May 13, 2016

Please forgive the emotional rambling. Just a related matter of irrelevance. Moment of weakness.
Looks as though ABC is about to make the cancellation of Castle official.  As I said a few weeks ago, I am not surprised.  This season just feels like they are wrapping it up.  Throwing in this CIA contact for Bracken?  Seriously?  Dragging the Beckett’s Mom storyline back from the depths?  That has been my big complaint this season.  Plus there are a lot of rumors about how Stana Katic is sick doing the show and won’t even talk to Nathan Fillion out of character.  Hardly blame her given how mediocre this season has been.

I remember a quote from Nathan Fillion talking about Firefly.  I can’t find the exact quote, but he said something like, “One of the best things about Firefly was that there was only one season.  You don’t have people saying it dropped off in season two but picked up in season three or anything like that.  You just have that one season that is perfect.”

If anybody comes across that exact quote, let me know.  My point is, a show doesn’t need to go on forever.  Does anybody say every episode of Doctor Who was incredible?  Seinfeld is considered to be one of the greatest television shows in history and it only lasted two or three seasons.  Most television shows don’t even get eight seasons, let alone eight quality seasons.

Anyway.  I started watching Castle on a whim.  I was bored on my way up to Thanksgiving one year and snuck into Best Buy for a few minutes to see if I could find a show to watch–or maybe it was Walmart, this was like six or seven years ago.  I spotted Season One and instantly intrigued.  Nathan Fillion, a hot chick and some snappy one liner about crime solving?  I wanted to at least check it out.

And it was amazing.  I got the next few seasons when I had a chance.

Around that point I got introduced to a girl.  We eventually started dating any ended up together for three years.  Got pretty serious, should have married her.  One of the first things we did was start watching Castle together.  We were both hooked on that show and spent a lot of time curled up together on the couch watching it.  As I’ve said in the past, I always kinda of thought of her as the Beckett to my Castle.  Being a writer-type helps that analogy.  She would probably argue otherwise–usually does–but for most of the relationship we fit together pretty well, had good chemistry, whatever.  In some ways, I was the goofball who could barely take anything seriously enough to get it done–I did once in awhile–while she was so over committed that she missed out on a lot of the things right in front of her.  We both had our problems.

Anyway, she broke up with me last June.  I got caught up on Castle last August.  I almost didn’t want to.  Thought it would remind me too much of things best left undisturbed.  Now I realize it helped.  It just reminded me of… something.  Life is like a television show, but at the same time isn’t.  Yeah, there might be down years, but it can always pick up again.  But the right cast make it all worth it.  I went down to NYCC last year and it felt all wrong because I had the wrong people with me.  In a lot of ways, I think she and I fit together pretty well–better than she wants to admit.  But, such speculations are ones I try to avoid.  The point is that the right cast of characters can do wonders.

Regardless, thank you Castle for many a day cuddled up on the couch, binging episodes while eating Waffles or Pancakes.  Thanks for seven great seasons and one season I’m still waiting to pass judgement on.  It has been fun.

Leave a Reply

