Sunday Musing for 2/7/16 Part Two

February 7, 2016

Following up on something from the previous update.  Wasn’t planning to do two today.  There was a bit of a hiccup with posting new pages.  Evidently, there is a limit to the size of the files I can upload to the Duck webcomics.  Up to now, this has not been an issue as there has been a bug that did not really enforce that limit.

The bug has been fixed.

That was the root cause of my difficulties earlier, as my files were .2 mb too big.  I’m going to refer to this as getting Berned.  Anyway, I’m coming up with a solution.  There are a few options.  I could get rolling with a site of my own, but the actual site management and development is a wee bit beyond my time and skill–started reading up on that process, but haven’t really been able to do much there.  There’s tumblr, but I think they are even more stringent on file sizes.  I might start looking for another site to host on, but I will like come across the same issues.  Most likely I will have to figure out how to get that file size down.

Longterm, I had planned to put together collected editions of the comic pages I had been posting through self-publishing on Amazon.  This plan might get accelerated if I cannot figure out how to get the file size down to the spec.  So, my idea is to self-publish two or three issue volumes–both as hard copies and e-books, if that is workable–whenever I finish drawing them.  I would prefer to continue offering material for free, but I will do what I have to do.

Personally, I’m thinking the best idea is to accelerate to the self-publishing endgame while continuing to work the other options.

Leave a Reply

