Thoughts That Aren’t Going To Wait…

January 12, 2016

Been a lot going on the last couple of days.

  • David Bowie died.  The only thing I can think to do is post the chorus from Starman.  It goes, “There’s a Starman waiting in the sky/ He’d like to come and meet us, but he thinks he’d blow our minds.”  I cannot think of anything that can better sum up the life of David Bowie than that.  I had been working on a Superman screenplay at one point–mostly to practice writing a screenplay–and that was a song I felt like had to be in there.  In some ways, the icon that Bowie became by the end was on a similar level to Superman.  He will be missed.
  • Think I’m going to do a more serious essay type thing on gun control at some point.  More to organize my own thoughts.  Did some reading up on the matter after hearing what some of my coworkers have to say and I realize there is a lot of misinformation out there.  As a country, we have this obsession with guns that completely clouds any rational thought.  I might type that up today.
  • Reading an article about Ted Cruz today, I think I figured out another reason why Bernie Sanders and Martin O’Malley appeal to me:  Compassion.  Republicans are embracing a doom and gloom approach playing on fear.  America has come across as the big bully for awhile, and we need to change that.  We need people who are actually going to care.  For all of his faults and missteps, Obama at least appears to care.  Bernie and O’Malley act like they care.  Hilary and the Republican field, not so much.
Leave a Reply

