May The Force Be With You…

December 17, 2015

Getting some sleep in before tonight’s viewing of Star Wars: The Force Awakens.  So amped up for this movie.  Got my Yoda t-shirt on and I’m good to go.  The things I haven’t been able to avoid hearing have been pretty good.  Glad I’ve resisted actual spoilers up to this point.  Sometimes I don’t give a fuck about spoilers, but Star Wars is different.  There is a right way If I’m feeling up to it, I’ll try to do a spoiler-free review when I get home.

Star Wars is a fascinating part of our culture.  The original films changed cinematic history.  The visual effects were innovative and jumped ahead twenty years or so.  It was a well crafted story that hooked people.  All from a movie that was all but guaranteed to be a flop.  George Lucas himself didn’t really believe the film was going anywhere–funny, given how much went into production.  Even the prequels, they have some value in their own right.  We got Liam Neeson’s Qui-Gon Jinn and Ewan MacGregor’s Obi-Wan Kenobi–I do think MacGregor’s Obi-Wan was enjoyable, though that might just be me.  And a double-bladed lightsaber.  I think, if George Lucas made one mistake with those movies, it was that he did too much of it himself.  With Lawrence Kasdan and Leigh Brackett doing some of the story/script he avoided some obvious traps with Episodes V and VI.  With Irvin Kershner and Richard Marquand directing those two, he was able to focus more on producing an in-depth story.  We all know the general history, but I think it became more of an ego trip for George Lucas when he made those.  Same type of thing with why I want to work with others on projects.

Just looking forward some fun.  I have high expectations of this.  To paraphrase Kenobi: “An elegant movie for a more civilized age.”

In other news…

I had some thoughts on how it can be good to be pointless in the things you do once in awhile.  Fills a need, I think.  Not trying to prove a point.  Wrote an entry about this the other day.  Had a bit of fun with the idea.  Here’s a link.

Leave a Reply

