TV Thoughts

December 7, 2015

Some Random Thoughts on currently televised shows.

I only watch like three TV shows right now.  Doctor Who, The Flash and Castle.  Mostly I just watch them when I don’t have the focus to draw.  If I had Netflix and/or the time for more shows, I would probably watching  some combination of Gotham, Agents of SHIELD, Daredevil and Jessica Jones.  I’m not overwhelmed with interest in those shows, but I am curious.

Gotham intrigues me, but I’m kinda meh about a Batman Origin.  We have a pretty idea where the story is going.

The Flash appeals to me because he is a geek superhero.  Just a fun, science type superhero show.  It ties into Arrow a lot, but I’m too engrained in the school of thought that Green Arrow is a Batman knockoff (more so in the early days of the character with the Arrow mobile and the Arrow cave) to really have serious interest in it.  I think Arrow even has borrowed some of Batman’s rogues (admittedly there are more than enough to spare).

The Marvel shows are losing appeal to me.  Part of it might be that Age of Ultron and what we’ve seen of Avengers 2.5 (Just calling Captain America: Civil War what it is) has weakened that brand a bit.  Admittedly, Ant-Man was really good and I’ve heard good things about Daredevil and Jessica Jones, but not enough to make sign up for Netflix.  Although David Tennant is there…

Doctor Who has gone some weird places.  Just watched the finale and was had some mixed feelings about it.  Clara was… feeling kinda forced at this point.  Even this arc centered around her death seemed dragged out.  I liked it, but it did feel a bit dragged out.  Also, Time Lords regenerating into different sexes?  Part of what was so interesting about the Master doing this was that he was a renegade.  Making it a natural part of Time Lord physiology seems kinda forced.  I think the Master/Missy (or potentially the Doctor, which has suggested) makes more sense given their relationship and their regard for rules.

I almost stopped watching Castle.  It felt like a relic from another life time and best left behind.  I’m glad I didn’t though.  I think watching it meant more to me anyway.  (Kinda wish I hadn’t left the DVDs behind, but whatever).  Plus I’m still loving the show, regardless of how annoying the main overhead storyline is.  Helped that the beginning of the storyline kinda echoed a bit of what I was going through at the time.  I think I know what the big reveal for this season is going to be anyway, but it still seems interesting.

Leave a Reply

