DC Comics Part One

August 26, 2011

Got to thinking about what my pull-list will look like when the new DC stuff hits at the end of the month.  I’m going to break it down week by week.  Here’s 8/31 and 9/7.

Justice League #1 and Flashpoint #5:

Buying those.  If those two are amazing, then I’ll probably set up a bunch of my subscriptions right then and there.

Action Comics #1:

Grant Morrison?  Yes please.

Animal Man #1:

Got the feeling this would have worked better as a six to twelve issue miniseries.  I just don’t see it lasting all that long.  Kind of split on whether or not to buy this one.

Batgirl #1:

Gail Simone’s bringing back Barbara Gordon?  I think it could work well.  Definitely buying this one.

Batwing #1:

Though I think Judd Winick is a fantastic writer, this is another series I think could work better as a six to twelve issue mini.  Might pass this one over just because they have too much Batman going on.

Detective Comics #1:

This one sounds like it will be a good story.  Tony Daniels seems to know what he’s doing and I’d like to see where it goes.

Green Arrow #1:

I want this one to succeed, but I don’t think it will have the staying power it should.  Will buy it.

Hawk and Dove #1:

Sterling Gates is writing so I’m pretty much a lock for this book.  Even with Rob “Who needs a basic understanding of anatomy?” Liefeld on art.  Will get this one.

Justice League International #1:

I’m just curious as to how Booster Gold ends up back in the present, leading a team.  With Jurgens and Lopresti on this book, it should be excellent.  Should definitely be worth picking up.

Men of War#1:

This looks very interesting and if I wasn’t all set to check out almost a dozen books already, this would be one to check out.

O.M.A.C. #1:

I’m not sure what they’re trying to do with this one.  They seem to be trying to go retro and modern all at the same time.  Not sure how interested in this one I can be.

Static Shock #1:

Another casualty of just not having enough space and time.  Could be a good series though.

Stormwatch #1:

Despite what I think are horrid costume redesigns, I probably will check out this series being written by the usually skilled Paul Cornell.

Swamp Thing #1:

Scott Snyder and Yanick Paquette?  Sounds like a good combo.

One Response to “DC Comics Part One”

  1. Kelly said

    I loved what I read of Birds of Prey by Simone. Barbara Gordon kicks ass… I’m glad she’s coming back.

Leave a Reply

