It Really Took Ten Years?

May 2, 2011

Pretty much right after I posted an entry last night, I saw they got Osama bin Laden.  US forces stormed the mansion/compound where he was and killed him.  I first saw it and just went “Really?”  Almost ten years since 9/11 and we finally nail the bastard.  I’m glad we finally did get him, and didn’t fuck around with trying to take him alive.  He probably wasn’t going to be taken alive anyway, but if they did manage to do it, there would have been a massive mess.  If they did, I doubt they would have been able to interrogate and then execute him.

I do think this will be huge from a political standpoint as well.  In less than three years, President Obama was able to do what George W. Bush didn’t do in seven.  I’m not going to get into a big thing about how Bush handled things, but I think if he wasn’t so intent on Iraq, we would have had bin Laden years ago.  This doesn’t end much of anything, but it is still a huge symbolic victory.

Regardless, from a strategic and symbolic viewpoint, this is huge.  I think a lot of good can come of it, if the next few weeks are used well.

Leave a Reply

