Part Two of Death of a Dream

February 23, 2011

After my post yesterday, I just kept on thinking over the political situations arising in the country I call home.  The more I think about it, the more I realize what a big heap of trouble we’re in.  Look at Wisconsin for example.  You try to screw over the unions to fix the budget and don’t expect some crippling backlash?  That might be a bit of an oversimplification of the situation, but there’s a point to be noticed there.  Unions are good for Democrats.  I’m not a huge fan of them myself, but they do serve a valid purpose in many situations.  A Republican Governor wants to hit them.  While I have not seen the numbers for the current budget situations in Wisconsin, I strongly suspect there were ways to do this without going after the unions.  That’s just a shot in the dark, but that’s where my thinking is.  This is an issue that has nothing to do with balancing the budget.

Recently I came across a video on Youtube of a meeting with some Vermont Legislators talking about the possibility of a single payer healthcare system.  The legislators have a bit of a laugh about a statement from a Vermont Commentator.  This apparently has been taken as the legislators not taking their constituents seriously, but that’s not what’s going on here.  It’s a rambling, poorly worded statement that’s overloaded with talking points and is essentially an attempt to confuse and scare.  I wouldn’t take a statement like that seriously.  But there are some who are more than willing to let a light moment get misinterpreted and use it for political reasons.  I’ve posted the video below for your consideration.

I guess my general response to what we’re seeing on all levels of politics is “What the fuck happened?”  Vermont’s quasi-political thinkers are up in arms about a possible Beverage Tax and Single Payer Healthcare System, both of which I don’t have a problem with.  Sodas, sugared drinks, energy drinks (I love Red Bull and will get into stints where I drink it on an almost daily basis, but I’m not in denial about it being less than the healthiest thing) all are far from the healthiest choices out there.  People are concerned about it impacting sales, but it won’t.  Not really.  People are addicted and the way you can buy in bulk these days, it will balance out.  It’ll just mean higher sales for the generic knock-offs.

Nationally, the Republicans are so crazily trying to cut spending that they’ll cut any program that does anything.  A lot of it is outrageous.  So many of them just do so much good, that it would be a travesty to cut even one of them.  You know a surefire way to cut spending and lower the deficits?  Remember those Bush era Tax Cuts?  Don’t those rack up the deficit like crazy?

My point is, the rest of the world is tearing itself apart.  Egypt, Libya, Yemen… They are all in the middle of revolutions.  This isn’t like that false start in Iran last year.  This is actually happening.  And we’re too busy squabbling over the small potatoes to be the leaders we should be.  We should be putting all that shit aside and getting the right stuff done.  Not fucking around with party lines and talking points.

Leave a Reply

