Baseball Hall of Fame

January 12, 2011

So Roberto Alomar and Bert Blyleven were elected into the Baseball Hall of Fame.  Barry Larkin, Jeff Bagwell, Raffy Palmeiro and Mark McGwire did not.  Alomar probably should have made it in last year, but I think there might have been a bit of punishment there for the incident where he spit in the umpire’s face.  As should have Larkin.

think Larkin and Bagwell will be there in the next year or two.  I mean, those two were among the best at their position for the bulk of the 1990s.  Then again, Jim Rice was one of the best players of his era and it took him forever to get into the Hall of Fame.  But those two should make it in.  I looked at the ballot for next year and I do think they will be in.  Beyond them, I think Jack Morris and Lee Smith stand a pretty solid chance.  Morris was one of the best pitchers of the 1980s and early 1990s.  Smith one of the first great closers and probably will suffer purely because of the stigma that closers seem to bear.  I would say Edgar Martinez has a shot, but being a DH… I think there might be a similar prejudice for the Designated Hitter as well.  But for 2012, I’ll say the Inductees will be Larkin, Bagwell and possibly Morris or Tim Raines.  That seems like the most likely Hall of Fame Class.  But what do I know?

Anyway, I’m hoping to finish working on the mystery novel (really need to work on a title for that one) and finish Avatars of Death.  I’ve still got a long way to go with Avatars of Death.  Probably got at least another seven or eight chapters/books/segments to write.  I’m hopeful to finish those relatively soon.

Leave a Reply

