Beverage Tax?

November 6, 2010

So, I was sitting at work today before I clocked in and a coworker came in.  The table I was sitting at had a bottle of Mountain Dew there.  He mentioned it to me and I shook my head and said it wasn’t mine and that I was trying to stop drinking soda completely.  Then we started talking about how bad soda is for you.  Now this guy is pretty overweight and it is good to see him trying to be healthier.

Just a few minutes ago, I came across something about a “Vermont Beverage Tax.”  Basically it puts an additional tax on beverages (pretty self explanatory) that contain a lot of artificial sweeteners, ie soda, various types of juices and teas, etc…

I can where this could be a good idea, but it needs some work.  To be honest, I wouldn’t mind being taxed a bit extra for sodas and sugary drinks.  I used to get into stints where I drank lots of soda.  During those times, I know I was as far from healthy as I could be.  It easily becomes an addiction.  Right now, I don’t think I’ve been much healthier.  And if a higher tax deters me from getting a soda or oversugared beverage, I don’t mind.

I can see the argument against though.  People should have the right to pour shit down their throat.  But I will point out that prices change all the time, and that has never stopped anybody from buying.

Leave a Reply

