Questions and Answers

July 18, 2010

Just a few random updates and poll question.  I’m almost done writing Last Stand for Eternity, which I have been posting on Writers’ Cafe and hope to have it available on Lulu by the end of July.  As always, the version on Lulu will have a myriad of sweeteners and extras to make it more appealing to the consumer.  Just need to finish it up.  Also starting to get pretty serious with Avatars of Death and Zombie Dance.  We’ll see what happens there.

I’d also like to boost the activity here.  Part of that’s on me, but I’d like to see things get busier on my various sites.  If I step up and post more stuff, people think they can read it, give feedback, offer input etc?

Saw Inception today.  Fucking amazing movie.  Everything about this movie was beautiful, amazing and awe-inspiring.  Christopher Nolan, you are the man.  At this point, you could probably have Batman become a transvestite calling himself Brenda in the third movie and it would probably be a good watch (preferably not, but he is that amazing).

We also were reminded why I do not usually partake in popcorn when I go to the movies.  That stuff usually doesn’t agree with me at all.  Today was no exception.  General digestive flummoxes are not that fun to deal with.

I’ve stated in the past that my general approach to a social life can be pretty well summed up by Modest Mouse lyrics.  On their album We Were Dead Before the Ship Even Sank, they have this song “People as Places as People”.  I will make an argument that this might just be some of the most brilliant song writing ever.  This song has been playing over and over in my mind (actually listening to it right now) and it just perfectly expresses so many things.

To answer a question
It’ll probably take more
If you’re already there
Well then you probably don’t know
Well we were the people
That we wanted to know
And we’re the places that we wanted to go
It’s hard to get hold of
And hard to let go
Always something we look for
From the day we were born
Instead we’re the people that we wanted to know
And we’re the places that we wanted to go
Yeah we’re the places that we wanted to go
We’re the places that we wanted to go

Always asking a question
And I don’t want to know
Like the wind across strings
That had finally let go
And the people you love
But you didn’t quite know
They’re the places that you wanted to go
Bark at the neighbors
And then bark at the dog
Sniffing the wind
Whimpering for someone to know
But we were the people that we wanted to know
And we’re the places that we wanted go
Yeah we’re the places that we wanted to go
Yeah we’re the places that we wanted to go

It was not the intention
But we let it all go
Well it messed up the function
And sure fucked up the flow
I hardly have people that I needed to know
‘Cause you’re the people that I wanted to know
All this scrambling around
Hunting high and then low
Looking for the face love
Or somewhere to go
I hardly have places that I need to go
‘Cause you’re the places that I wanted to go
Yeah you’re the places that we wanted to go
Yeah you’re the places that we wanted to go

You’re the people that we wanted to know
Shouldn’t have to ask
You shouldn’t have to ask
‘Cause we are your real place

One Response to “Questions and Answers”

  1. ahelmic6 said

    I’d definitely visit more often if you posted more regularly :).

    I’ve heard good things about Inception, I’ll have to go see it sometime. I’d rather not go alone though…but I may not have a choice. My friends are being flaky again.

    Good luck with the writings 🙂

Leave a Reply

