Silly SyFy… (Warning! Some Language)

January 30, 2010

So I came across this article about how how SyFy might get a cooking show.

Link.

A cooking show.  A cooking show? Or a talk show?  Now I’ve been no fan of their more recent programming for a number of reasons, but seriously?  Now, there I’m sure some people would watch that–if only because it seems like us Americans will watch anything.  However, I feel I should say this… Come on!  You seriously think this is how to attract viewers?

I have chosen this quote to isolate because I think it exemplifies the problem:

“We heard from a source who’s had meetings with Syfy execs recently, in which they said they were trying to get away from the “genre stereotype” of science fiction.”

FOR THE SAKE OF FUCK!  YOUR NETWORK WAS CALLED SCIFI UNTIL YOUR RIDICULOUS CHANGE IN SPELLING!!!!  PEOPLE EXPECT YOU TO SHOW SOME SCIENCE FICTION AND FANTASY!!!!

Syfy, formally known as Scifi as of July 2009, wants to get away from the “genre stereotype” of what their name implies.  You should be showing quality scifi and fantasy, not Mega Shark vs. Ultra Octopus or whatever those stupid movies they show are.  I don’t get it.  I’ve watched Ghost Hunters and I don’t get it.  What is the appeal of that show.  Ghost stories are a sacred part of our culture and I feel that shows like Ghost Hunters and their ilk cheapen them with their pseudo science.  Ghost stories… it doesn’t matter if we know if they’re true or not.  It’s not about fact and truth.  It’s about the mysticism and fable-like quality.

In my checking of facts to confirm when Syfy became Syfy, I saw that it (as well as its sister network Chiller, which I also am not a huge fan of, but for some different reasons) is owned by NBC Universal.  It’s true.  The same jackasses who made a mess of the Tonight Show were behind this!

So congratulations Syfy, not like you were really appealing to me right now, but you have just officially lost a viewer.  Here’s a song to try to tone down my cynicism.

Leave a Reply

